When giving is not enough do you give in …..?

Or do you take it on the chin, pull yourself up by the boot-straps, brush yourself off & say “OK – you know what, tomorrow is another day”? I don’t know; you tell me.

Confused? Yes, so am I …..

Do you ever get the feeling your chasing your tail? If not, then I guess you are one of the lucky ones. Just when you think “the only way is up”, something else comes along that tells you a whole different story.

Need an explanation? Then so do I!

Most of you know by now that I am involved in the project The Great translation Chain; you know the thing that takes up the majority of my tweets, my time, my thoughts & yes even my amazement at just how much people are willing to give. The translation project has one idea in mind; to support & to recognise that there is more to life than just earning money (although yes it helps).

So, why am I feeling so strangely gutted as I write this? One reason really; the secondary aim of this project was also to highlight just how important the work of translators is.  How it is essential to remember that translators have feelings too & when translating a text, that strikes a chord in their heart, they are able to express this feeling, whilst of course ensuring the original message is not distorted, (I feel another transcreation rant coming on here)  & without the constraint of that old potato “literal translation please” coming back on the carpet. Imagine my horror when I received the veiled threat of undermining this!

Freedom of speech, freedom of expression; yes we all believe in that, or at least we state to doing so. So, tell me how I managed to get a nightmare on my back when all we (the project founders) wished to do through this project was to give something back? How did this happen?

I’ll tell you how (in the words of a trusted associate), when we met an opportunist.

Whilst this translation project wasn’t entirely developed to its “max” potential when we launched it, it was carefully scrutinised for its authenticity. It’s for this reason that I am sure that if you are reading this, and are smarting, then you know about whom and about what I am stirred up!

The collaborators and the generosity they show is what this is about; not some petty sense of competition!

Apparently I didn’t see this one coming but be assured – I am now on my guard. Naïve I may well be, but stupid I am not. Giving is giving at the end of the day & if you want to dress it up as something else you came to the wrong place.

The Great Translation Chain remains open for business, the business of giving – if this is for you – please  do climb aboard.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under languages, linguists, Proofreading, Translations, Translators

Leave a Reply

