Lost in the translators’ lounge & other stories

It’s really quite funny the way that social & professional networking sites do not take any notice of that “Do Not Disturb” sign on the virtual door of your supposed freelance office.

If they were knocking down my door with offers of well-paid work & achievable deadlines then I don’t suppose I would care too much, but I have to say (or maybe shout); HAVE SOME PEOPLE GOT NOTHING BETTER TO DO?

I was under the impression that sites such as LinkedIn & Twitter were designed in such a way that you could filter the information you wanted from the information you wish you had never seen …?

So why is it that over the last few months I have received some rather strange feeds from the said sites? Offers of web-design I haven’t asked for, the ranting of a teacher from India declaring that English natives cannot teach grammar (this subject will be revisited) & being asked not to post translation related information to a translation group talking about …. yes translations!

I may well not be an angel, I may annoy some with my plugging of my joint venture “translation for causes” project but I ask you; would you prefer to translate for good causes, or for a rotten agency that wants you to work to blood-cutting deadlines for a mere pittance? Yes the unscrupulous swine who was rude to me did not take kindly to the fact that some people wanted to give up their time to my project rather than accept to be paid fewer than 2 cents (if they were lucky) by him!

Before you throw tomatoes at me and drag me off to the gallows; let me just add that I am not tarring all agencies with the same brush and I know that some translation jobs are well-paid. I am one of the lucky ones who get to work for the good of others sometimes.

Leave a comment

Filed under languages, Translators

Leave a Reply

